Poetry

And That Makes Me Beautiful

(Written for women who get down on themselves too much. I think it is important for us to see ourselves as we truly are and not what society sometimes makes us ‘feel’)

And That Makes Me Beautiful

 

I am an emotional creature – of that you can be sure.

Things affect me deeply, leaving my thoughts obscure.

I am a defender of others, but I am in need of defending,

I may seem strong to conquer all but sometimes, I run out of the strength I’m lending.

I am a giver of life; I carried my children inside me,

I am their prayer warrior loving them when they can’t see.

I am a woman – and that makes me beautiful.

 

When the world is hard, I add a special touch for others delight,

I create; I decorate, making things just right.

Darkness comes and it’s time to rest,

I look around me and see how I am blessed.

I want to encourage others to see that they are too,

I build relationships in all that I say and do.

I am a woman – and that makes me beautiful.

 

My heart is tender and soft, I love all of what life brings

My heart is powerful and it feels a million things.

My capacity to forgive when wronged is vast,

But I still need to be stood up for, when I am thought of last.

When I am a lone, I am a warrior the adventure is mine,

Hiding my battle scars, lest my vulnerability to find.

I am a woman – and that makes me beautiful.

 

 

When I am loved, I am light and my beauty is enhanced,

I lose inhibitions and I welcome the dance.

With the fragrance of my hair that passes by in a whirl,

I am a woman, yet also a girl.

The softness of my skin, the shape of my silhouette to hold;

Is a treasure that not just anyone can have, for it is gold.

I am a woman – and that makes me beautiful.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

